Celestron NexStar hamlib driver for Satellite Tracking

From Eric Grumling WE7U

This is a demonstration of the Celestron NexStar hamlib driver. A few years ago I put in a feature request to the Hamlib project asking if they would develop a rotctl driver for a telescope mount. This week I found out that it had been put out for testing and Stephane, F8CFE had been trying to reach me to have me try it. I’m happy to report that it seems to be working quite well. Unfortunately the weather has not been cooperative so I had to test indoors. I made this video to get the word out so maybe others can test out this easy, inexpensive way to add some automation to their shack.

Build the hamlib driver using the source code here: http://sourceforge.net/p/hamlib/featu… (scroll down about 1/2 way down the page for links and instructions). Will work with any telescope mount that supports NexStar protocol.

Leave a Reply

